Leaning not on my own understanding.

I was having a conversation just the other day with a worship leader who was making some pretty big changes in his life to be able to move into full-time ministry.  Money was going to change, his job was going  to change, family dynamics and the list goes on.  He was feeling a bit overwhelmed and anxious about it all, but at the same time expressed that he had a peace in the middle of it all.

I would say a word that I often use to describe my life would be chaotic.  Chaos is defined as something that is in need of having direction imposed upon itself.  I live a life of chaos, but I know that in all reality I don’t own what I have created in a sense.  That I need to God to provide the direction and order.  To put all the pieces of my life into correct and distinct order.   So when I decided to trust in God I also decided to suspend reason at times.  In others words not everything always looks good on paper, or not everything will always make total sense.  But I am called to lean not on my own understanding.  To put the word faith into action by giving God what’s already his and trust that he knows what’s best for me in every situation.

Brothers McClurg have a new record our called “Join in the Sound” and we decided to record a video devotional for each of the songs on it.  This is a video devotional for the song “Lean Not”.  And the verse that we wrote this song around is Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways submit to  Him and He will make your paths straight.”

Hope you enjoy.

One thought on “Leaning not on my own understanding.

Leave a Reply

